Why do YOU define my worth?

Ellie
1 min readDec 5, 2023

What defines my worth?
Is it what I know or what I’ve done?
Is it where I live or where I’ve gone?

What defines my worth?
Is it your praise or when you put me down?
Is it my clothes or my general sense of style?

What defines my worth?
Is it my story or followers count?
Is it the number of likes or how many friends I’ve got?

Who defines my worth?
Is it my parents or my partner of now?
Is it my friends or random strangers online?

Who defines my worth?
Is it you, the one that looks back in the mirror?
Yes, you, I can hear you the loudest, loud and clear.

You define my worth.
The one that screams and cries,
The one that laughs and smiles,
the one who knows my deepest desires,
The one who has been by my side since I can remember, the - I.

--

--